Sarah Pepper/London & South East

For information on the London & South East/South Central Regional Study Day in Central London on Saturday 7 June 2014, click here

Sarah took up her post for her three year term at the AGM in October 2013.

Sarah may be contacted by BADN members in the London & South East region on


Sarah started working as a trainee dental nurse in 1999 within the grounds of an NHS surgery in Imperial College, gaining the NQV level 3 in 2004.  Sarah now works in the out skirts of Bucks doing full mouth rehabs, implants etc, completeing the OHE in 2012.   She is passionate about all aspects of the work dental nurses do. Patient are happy to talk to her about all aspects of dentistry as we all know that dental nurses are far less scary then the dentists.   She is   a firm believer of prevention before cure.


Tell us about your early life……

I was born in Cardiff, before moving with my family to South Africa in 1982 where we lived for 5 years, we came back to the UK where we lived in Shepherds Bush, then moving to Milton Keynes, Leaving school with basic GCSEs grades. I then attended Llysfasi Agricultural College to do a shepherdess course as I love the great outdoors and could not see myself working in an office.

What jobs did you do before you   became a dental nurse?

I started my working life at 17, but did not find dental nursing until I was 21, I floated into various jobs, ranging from bar work/waitressing to body piercing and internal post rooms of large international companies. Returning to Shepherds Bush in 1999, to take care of an elderly relative that had suffered a stroke, I answered a ad in a local job centre which offered full training on the job.

What education/training did you do?

NVQ Level 3

Oral Health Education NVQ Level 3 2004

Oral Health education NVQ Level 3 2012

What about CPD?

I have job over 100 verifiable hours including a two day course in close support dentistry.

What jobs have you had in dental nursing?

My first job in dentistry was at Imperial College Dental Practice as a trainee, which was a five chair practice (fully NHS), where I stayed for a year, from there I moved to Westminster Dental practice, a single handed cosmetic surgery clinic (completely private) also for one year. I then moved to a NHS practice in Hillingdon which was a two chair practice and gained lots of experience, from there I moved to a NHS/Private surgery in Bucks, for two and a half years, whilst I was there I completed the then new NVQ course. From there I moved to a private adult, with a NHS children contract, where we undertake all dental procedures, including implant placement and full mouth rehabs. I have control of the day to day running of the surgery and I am the main decontamination officer.

What posts have you held with BADN?

London and South East Regional Co-ordinator

Where do you live now and with whom?

I now live in Uxbridge with my husband, after a long engagement of 10 years.

What about hobbies?

My hobbies include – Taking my Staffy Billy for long walks

Running – taking part in half marathons

Doing verifiable CPD hours!

Tell us five things about yourself that most people probably don’t know

I once abseiled down Kings College tower for Evelina Children’s Hospital.

My mother’s side originates from Catalonia.

I’m acutely dyslexic .

I can shear a sheep in under 5 minutes.

My husband and I bought a dilapidated house and completely restored it.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email